Information Whore

The reason why i am writing this is because one of my family member casually mentioned that since i am going to install an internet connection at the office the internet connection subscription at home might as well be stopped.

Following that casual comment, i literally went into aggressive mode and i spewed almost an endless reason why i would want the internet connection to stay on, and plainly saying that i absolutely can not live without the internet.

Even a few hours after the incidents had passed i am still unable to fathom why somebody in this day and age would consider not having the internet at home. To me it is like somebody saying i no longer want to drink water or eat food. It is unthinkable, unfathomable, and absolutely unacceptable to me.

If i were to list my basic human needs, information and utility from the internet would come just after food, clothing and shelter.

Now i have a confession to make. I am an information addict. I may not have thought as much, but that comment literally forced my brain into an overdrive. It is as if my brain is inciting me to move into a survival mode.

Over the course of my lifetime i have gained a number of nickname, one of them is the title of ‘Information Whore’. While it sounds like something other people would not like to have, on the contrary i sometimes pride myself that i have such a ravenous appetite for information.

I was not born with a big physique, i am not as smart as some of my friends, and neither am i born with good looks. So i have come to rely on my voracious appetite for information as my source of survival. Ever since i was a child i have developed a habit of reading everything from books, magazine, encyclopedia, newspaper and TV. Back in the days when newspaper was used as a wrapping paper for some goods sent over by courier, i will even start reading whats on it.

When i moved to Singapore at 13 years old, i continue to read newspaper even at 6.30 in the morning before school, everyday. So obviously when three years later the school decided that morning reading was to become a routine during morning assembly i was delighted. Now i could extend my reading time in school.

So it comes almost naturally that i specialized in argumentative writing ever since a selection of writing themes was made available as part of O-level. Since secondary three, i have never wrote anything else other than argumentative essay. In the university, especially in my master degree, i pride myself in including the latest piece of information from first rate, reliable and verifiable source up until the deadline of the assignment.

To cut a long story short, information to me is like air. Without a constant source of information, i might as well be a vegetable. Information allows me to develop my own competitive advantage. Information overcomes my lack of confidence in talking. Information allows me to be relevant. Information to be knowledgeable, to help other people, to hold my grounds against other in intellectual warfare. Information has made me a lot of money and saves me a lot more money. My main purpose to buy all the latest gadget is so i can be constantly connected to new source of information wherever i go, and the reason why i can justify myself to buy those its because it is an excellent form of investment. All the gadgets that i have, have paid for itself several times over in utilities.

And of course, the internet is the single greatest source of information provider. Let me make it clear to all of you, that in the course of my lifetime, i have not known a better form of investment than an internet subscription. Even the most expensive price plans a provider offer will pay for itself thousand of times over easily.

And somebody wants to take away my internet. Over my dead body.

-Aries

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

